you know ramadan is around the corner when….

This post is not about moonsighting. It is a reflection. Right before the blessed month of Ramadan I go numb. My weaknesses get the best of me. But now I can write about it! (But I am wondering if any one else feels the same?)

1. women start looking better. like WAY better.

The other day I had lunch with a friend at his company’s cafeteria. It’s a prestigious tech company known for putting out good products, but not known for having great looking women. It took me an hour and a half to finish my burrito. You see, my eyes were like ping-pong balls, bouncing from one bodacious babe to another. MashaAllah….what….beauty? Shake it off. My friend told me later that on the way back to his desk, he saw really pretty ladies he’d never seen before. Where did they come from?

2. the urge to splurge increases

Yesterday I went to Best Buy. I stopped in mid-strut in front of the new releases section and did a quick scan of the rack. The Kanye West album “Graduation” and the 50 Cent album “Curtis”. I couldn’t decide which one I should pick up. So I picked up both. Why did I do that?

I’ve been looking around for a viable alternative and upgrade to Apple’s music production software Garageband. Apple somehow read my mind. Logic Studio out today from the Apple store. Only $499! Why am I itching like a beagle with fleas to buy this ASAP??

And don’t even talk to me about clothes.

3. sucky music sounds better

Now I know the Kanye album has more creative lyrics, production, and overall depth to it. Its funkier no doubt. So why do I still have the “Fitty” album bumpin’ in my trunk? The line, “I’m laughing straight to the bank wit dis” is stuck in my head.

4. sleeping in is a better option. and i think sleeping is for wimps.

The last couple of days I rolled into work around 11:00-11:30 am. Not a good look.

5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10. personal (this post aint a confession)

No, its not a confession. Im human. I got issues. And so do you. The first few days before Ramadan I am reminded about how human I really am. And how much I need this blessed month to help me conquer my vices better. May Allah make it easy for us conquer ourselves. Ramadan kareem!

4 Responses to you know ramadan is around the corner when….

  1. Haaris Abbasi says:

    You know how it is Ramadan? Like today, I did not curse. I have been watching my language like crazy. Even at work. Hahahaha. I think Shaytan is locked up for a month. Time to get some good deeds [InshAllah].

  2. I am still wondering if we started fasting on the correct day ? Seriously though, i hope ramadan helps me focus just a little bit as well… so u aint the only one who is distracted.

  3. darvish says:

    Ramadan Mubarak, Brother :)

    Gorging before the fast is a common human trait. So is spending money on yourself before giving to charity. Thank God for this month of forgiveness and prayer. Inshallah, it will last the whole year in our hearts.

    Ya Haqq!

  4. Irving says:

    A belated Ramadan Mubarak, Brother :) May Allah bless you and your family and make the month easy for you.

    Ya Haqq!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

